Simmering - History of the District
Church in Altsimmering, beginning of the 19th century
Church in Altsimmering, beginning of the 19th century

The community of Simmering was first chronicled in the year 1028. From 1605 on, it was the site of a brewery which represented an important revenue source for over three hundred years. Until around 1860, Simmering remained a small village. Afterwards, houses and public housing  quickly sprang up. There followed a period of rapid development which made this area a vibrant part of Vienna itself: Kaiserebersdorf – earlier just known as Ebersdorf – was the family seat of the Ebersdorfers. Emperor Maximilian II often resided at Schloss Kaiserebersdorf, the old family seat of the Ebersdorfers, when on his out-of-town hunting trips.

In 1892, Simmering and Kaiserebersdorf, along with Schwechat, were incorporated into Vienna’s 11th “Simmering” district.

In so many areas, Simmering has successfully managed to preserve its village character, as evidenced by its countless one- and two-storey buildings with interior courtyards, along with the numerous hackney-cab businesses which are based here. Shopping becomes a true pleasure with such a large number of local suppliers and specialists: electricians, fitters, tailors for alterations and similar businesses – while there are even two bridal-fashion stores on the Simmeringer Hauptstrasse itself. This is a community where locally-based businesses are far more than just an empty slogan.

Contact
Hotel Hahn
Mautner Markhof-Gasse 72
1110 Vienna, Austria
tel.: +43 1 74 888 00
Email: info@hotelhahn.at


Images



Hotel Hahn, Wien - Vienna
Hotel Hahn, Wien - Vienna
Hotel Hahn, Wien - Vienna
Hotel Hahn, Wien - Vienna
Hotel Hahn, Wien - Vienna
Hotel Hahn, Wien - Vienna
Hotel Hahn, Wien - Vienna
Hotel Hahn, Wien - Vienna
Hotel Hahn, Wien - Vienna